Already a member?

Not a member yet?

Profile Search

Mary's Family

Family from (NSW)

hi, our family consists of my daughter Matilda, myself and our schnauzer Milo. We live in the Inner West of Sydney. Matilda is 17 now and is still in High School. She finishes school next Sept. She does not have any siblings or family living in Sydney or even Australia so this is the reason I would like to extend our family and give her the opportunity to experience more than I can provide.

Matilda is outgoing, loves music, dancing, going to the movies, theatre, local library, she's passionate about reading and doing her art. She would like to learn some cooking skills. When Matilda was much younger I tried to enroll her in the Aunties/Uncles program but they refused her on the basic that she has Down Syndrome. I didn't have the energy to challenge that. The biggest gap in her life is the absence of friends, she goes to mainstream High School and gets the bus home every day so she's quite high functioning in that regard. She has friends at school but despite effort on my part this does not carry over to after school, holidays or weekends so she is very isolated.

She is able to speak but stutters and she is having Speech Therapy for that.

Of course I'm happy to answer any questions you have.

We are not a religious family in the usual sense of the word, we practice kindness, Matilda is passionate about writing in her gratitude journal every day and we try to always give money to homeless people who ask as well as buskers. I try to instill in her how fortunate we are to have a nice home to live in and have money for holidays.

Currently her social life revolves around paid workers accompanying her to cinema/ferry rides/park. the workers come and go as they have their own lives to live. I would love for her to have somebody more permanent in her life, someone who becomes part of our family. Hope to hear from you soon!

In addition, this Family:
  • Speaks: English
  • Has pets (Minature schnauzer Milo)
  • Never smokes cigarettes
  • Has a car (and a driver's licence), uses public transport.
  • Would prefer grandparents to complete or hold valid first aid certification and would agree to pay for any courses that may be required.

Note to visitors

Check this page regularly to see our new members.

Good to know

You can view all registered member profiles on our website without joining Find a Grandparent.

Once you have joined Find a Grandparent you can create your own profile and also send messages to grandparents/families via our website to establish contact.


Your ad could be here

Please contact us if you want to advertise on this website.